Railroad Line Forums - Harmony Junction Switching Layout
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 3 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 147 ]  [ Total: 150 ]  [ Newest Member: Alex Italy ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 Model Railroad Construction
 Harmony Junction Switching Layout
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Topic Next Topic: CNR Blackwater division
Page: of 14

Philip
Fireman



Posted - 08/20/2020 :  10:33:00 AM  Show Profile  Visit Philip's Homepage  Reply with Quote
i totally missed this thread... We don't need no fasttracks!

There is hope! major accomplishment!

Great work George!

Philip



Country: USA | Posts: 3352 Go to Top of Page

George D
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 08/20/2020 :  10:35:23 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It certainly is easier to work on when it's on it's side.

I hate to compare my wiring to yours, Frank, but here it is. I haven't soldered any of the connections yet and won't until I'm sure everything is right. Hopefully I'll be able to bundle the wires so they look a little better.



George

I should add that I routed the wires from the toggle switches to the Tortoise machines so they ran on the opposite side of the machine from the throw wire.



Edited by - George D on 09/28/2020 5:40:16 PM

Country: USA | Posts: 16385 Go to Top of Page

George D
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 08/27/2020 :  5:43:43 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The wiring is done and everything works as planned. Here's a control panel I made. I'm either going to add a frame around it or mount the toggle switches on the fascia – not sure yet.





The layout is presently DC, but I'll be converting it to DCC later. Here's a video of a test run on the layout. The frogs and points are powered, so there's no stalling. The lighting is poor. I'm holding my iPhone with one hand and controlling the loco and throwing the switched with the other, but it shows everything works OK.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JofH7Gt5e5g

I don't like the grade going into the siding. I'll be pulling up the track and inserting a thin roadbed under it and the other two sidings. The DAP Alex Plus adhesive can be coaxed with a putty knife so I can pull up the track. I'll probably have to replace the wooden ties.

George



Country: USA | Posts: 16385 Go to Top of Page

Michael Hohn
Fireman



Posted - 08/27/2020 :  7:26:38 PM  Show Profile  Visit Michael Hohn's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Indeed, very smooth running. Excellent workmanship throughout, George.




Country: USA | Posts: 6761 Go to Top of Page

Tyson Rayles
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 08/28/2020 :  08:49:53 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Very nice George but we need some scenery!


Country: USA | Posts: 13312 Go to Top of Page

George D
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 08/28/2020 :  09:00:41 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks, Mike and Mike.

I'm looking forward to the scenery part, Mike, but I have to design and build a support system to hold the layout and build the fiddle yards first.

George



Country: USA | Posts: 16385 Go to Top of Page

TRAINS1941
Engineer

Premium Member


Posted - 08/28/2020 :  09:16:46 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Nice work George.

Jerry

"And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years." A. Lincoln

Country: USA | Posts: 12872 Go to Top of Page

Carl B
Fireman

Premium Member

Posted - 08/28/2020 :  10:14:04 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Very smooth running. Your handlaid track paid dividends George!


Country: USA | Posts: 3995 Go to Top of Page

George D
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 08/28/2020 :  11:03:18 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks, Jerry and Carl. I enjoyed the track laying. You have a lot of flexibility in design.

George



Country: USA | Posts: 16385 Go to Top of Page

Frank Palmer
Fireman



Posted - 08/28/2020 :  11:55:54 AM  Show Profile  Visit Frank Palmer's Homepage  Reply with Quote

George your wiring system isn’t at all like mine. But I wish mine was like yours.


Frank

Country: USA | Posts: 5968 Go to Top of Page

George D
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 08/28/2020 :  1:20:49 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Frank, I need to post an updated picture of the underside of the layout. It's pretty cluttered with wires.

George



Country: USA | Posts: 16385 Go to Top of Page

Tyson Rayles
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 09/28/2020 :  09:29:20 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, been thirty days and no posts? You slacking off on us George?


Country: USA | Posts: 13312 Go to Top of Page

Carl B
Fireman

Premium Member

Posted - 09/28/2020 :  10:16:05 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Agreed. We can't go more than a week or so without an update George....


Country: USA | Posts: 3995 Go to Top of Page

George D
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 09/28/2020 :  5:35:28 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks for the kick in the butt, Mike and Carl.

I pulled the sidings up and put a thin roadbed down and glued the track back down. I gave the track and ties a base coat of dark gray from a rattle can. I then remembered that I didn't fill in the cuts in the middle of the PCB ties. I took some paint thinner and removed the paint and covered the cuts with Bondo body putty.



I decided to do away with the instrument panel and mount the toggle switches for the Tortoises on the fascia. I drilled a 2” hole in the fascia and drilled a 2” hole in some 4”x4” pieces of 1/2” plywood. I glued them together along with a piece of 1/8” luan that was drilled for the toggle switch. I glued that stack to the back of the fascia.





I painted the fascia black.



I mounted the toggles and wired everything (again).



I'm now working on a design for the legs that will hold the fiddle yards. Once I sort that out I'll have more pictures.

George

I should add that I routed the wires from the toggle switches to the Tortoise machines so they ran on the opposite side of the machine from the throw wire.



Edited by - George D on 09/28/2020 5:45:34 PM

Country: USA | Posts: 16385 Go to Top of Page

Frank Palmer
Fireman



Posted - 09/28/2020 :  6:34:37 PM  Show Profile  Visit Frank Palmer's Homepage  Reply with Quote

Good ole' Murphy. He'll bite you in the roadbed every time.


Frank

Country: USA | Posts: 5968 Go to Top of Page
Page: of 14 Topic Next Topic: CNR Blackwater division  
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Previous Page | Next Page
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-2020 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 0.44 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000