Railroad Line Forums - Free Design Help
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 0 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 124 ]  [ Total: 124 ]  [ Newest Member: csrr70 ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 Layout Design / Operation Sig Forum
 Free Design Help
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: shelf layout composition Topic Next Topic: Wednesday Night Ops on the CL&W
Page: of 19

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 02/06/2017 :  3:38:37 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Jeff,

There is not really much I can do with the grades, it was why I was having so much trouble coming up with a plan that I liked when I first started. To fully use all the space, there had to be a grade somewhere that brought the line up over itself because of the configuration of the bench work, and to keep the track as close as possible to the aisle ways. If you had been looking for more of an operational layout instead of a scenic layout, I would have to have gone with another design. There are always trade offs.

BTW: I have already subscribed to your thread.

Take care,
Rob.


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 621 Go to Top of Page

Jeff Compton
Engine Wiper

Premium Member

Posted - 02/06/2017 :  4:46:51 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Rob,
I completely understand and in no way was I criticizing the design. Though now you have me curious as to what you might have designed for an operational layout! :) Glad you will be following along. Hopefully there will not be a lot of down time as I begin this process. The comments indicate that people like your design!
Jeff



Country: | Posts: 253 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 02/07/2017 :  09:03:07 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Jeff,

I am not exactly sure what the more operational design for your space would have been since I didn't explore that option all that much. However, no doubt it would be single level with sincere scenes, and include some staging. The number of towns included would depend on the ease of access around the layout.

Take care,
Rob.


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Edited by - robchant on 02/07/2017 09:53:04 AM

Country: Canada | Posts: 621 Go to Top of Page

jbvb
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 02/07/2017 :  09:46:48 AM  Show Profile  Visit jbvb's Homepage  Reply with Quote
A larger minimum radius typically reduces grades because there's more distance where track loops back on itself. But each loop then requires more space and longer reaches.


Country: USA | Posts: 5027 Go to Top of Page

CT
New Hire

Posted - 02/13/2017 :  2:34:39 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote

Hi Rob,

I posted this over on the On30 forum and it was suggested I run it by you:



Posted - 02/13/2017 : 12:51:22 AM Show Profile Email Poster Edit Topic Reply with Quote
Hi All,

I am hoping to build my first On30 layout. I have very limited space, 6' x 1' shelf, available. I'd like to have some operating possibilities and also keep the switches to a minimum.

Is this at all possible? Am I crazy to think I could get something that will work? Obviously, I'm new to all this and not sure how to go about choosing a layout.

I've looked around on the web (including Carl A. Micro web pages) but I haven't really seen anything that would work.

Any advice is greatly appreciated...Thanks!!

So that's my 'problem'...very small space, limited budget, no experience! What do you think?

And thanks for being so generous to offer Free Help!



Country: | Posts: 16 Go to Top of Page

rca2
Engine Wiper

Posted - 02/13/2017 :  2:51:38 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Welcome to the forums, CT. I moved this post to the other thread. Bob.


Modeling Arizona Eastern Railroad, Hayden Junction (1920), in On30

Edited by - rca2 on 02/13/2017 4:32:57 PM

Country: USA | Posts: 409 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 02/13/2017 :  2:53:39 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi CT,

I will respond in your thread under the On30 Line forum to keep this all in one spot. You already have some good advice there.

Take care,
Rob.


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 621 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 02/13/2017 :  2:59:26 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Bob,

Can you repost your response under CT's thread in the On30 Line forum? I think this should be a group effort, and we might get better participation in On30.

Thanks,
Rob.


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 621 Go to Top of Page

shortliner
Engine Wiper



Posted - 02/17/2017 :  10:50:16 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by RichBeau

Oh yeah! I see lots of goodness there! You even got all three sidings back there...nice. I like it. And the boxcars too.

Headed out. I'll check in later.



Rob, would you mind if I tried that plan [page 15 half way down]for my switching layout? - there is something about it that appeals........



Edited by - shortliner on 02/17/2017 11:00:24 AM

Country: United Kingdom | Posts: 499 Go to Top of Page

rca2
Engine Wiper

Posted - 02/17/2017 :  11:36:37 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by shortliner
...There is something about it that appeals....



I agree entirely. It is a great plan that works just as well feeding from right or left or as a British style oval with hidden staging in the rear.


Modeling Arizona Eastern Railroad, Hayden Junction (1920), in On30

Country: USA | Posts: 409 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 02/17/2017 :  2:09:48 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:

Rob, would you mind if I tried that plan [page 15 half way down]for my switching layout? - there is something about it that appeals........



Hi Jack,

I really don't mind anyone using the layouts I help design, but I would ask you to check with Rich, since it is his design as far as I am concerned. If you need the plan adapted for your space, just let me know what changes you require.

Take care,
Rob.


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 621 Go to Top of Page

shortliner
Engine Wiper



Posted - 02/18/2017 :  04:11:00 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
RichBeau - in view of Robs reply to my query - do you mind if I use the design he did for you?
Best
Jack



Country: United Kingdom | Posts: 499 Go to Top of Page

rwproctor
New Hire



Posted - 03/05/2017 :  10:27:00 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Rob,
Does your offer still stand for some help. I am also using 3rd Planit for design. I am having issues with the WM yard terminus seen here. You can see what I have developed over the last week or so by following this thread http://model-railroad-hobbyist.com/node/29289

Here is a picture of where I am now.


Download Attachment: Version 3b.jpg
60.34 KB

Any help would be appreciated.

Rob Proctor



Country: | Posts: 16 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 03/05/2017 :  10:42:56 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Rob,

My offer still stands, but instead of me reading thru the other thread to see what you want to accomplish, and what problems you're having, can you summarize it for me so I am sure we are on the same page before I begin?

Take care,
Rob.


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 621 Go to Top of Page

rwproctor
New Hire



Posted - 03/05/2017 :  4:20:31 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Rob,

Quick background. I am modeling the WMRY from Hagerstown to Port Covington (PC)(Baltimore) from 1945-1953ish.

This will be double deck 14x30 layout. I have put the docks/city/wharf area on the peninsula because there will not be an upper level over it, and it will be in the middle of the room.

Anyway the WM ended its estbound line at PC, there was heavy coal traffic there (one pier dedicated specifically for it) and sveralother piers for general merchandise. And car float operationsI will have 2-3 large ships modeled as well as one of the warehouses. I would also like if possible a small engine service terminal, and a couple warehouses (backdrop maybe) to use for industries to switch.


My biggest problem that I am having is the yard. I have what I think is a good arrangement on the placement of the docks. But when it comes to the yards, it look cluttered and unorganized. When the trains come into the yard i seem to have enough track to handle them (rightnow my longest is about 4') however I have docks track 6' in length.

So what I am looking for is some guidance on the yard design, long enough to handle 6-8' trains (if I need to I can cut the length down some).
Hope this helps, I have attached Version 2 here(Version 3 you can see I moved the helix to the lower left ( Attached in earlier post))

Thanks again,
Rob

Download Attachment: Version 2c.jpg
90.59 KB



Country: | Posts: 16 Go to Top of Page
Page: of 19 Previous Topic: shelf layout composition Topic Next Topic: Wednesday Night Ops on the CL&W  
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Previous Page | Next Page
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-14 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 0.41 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000