Railroad Line Forums - Wiring for Building Lighting
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 4 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 183 ]  [ Total: 187 ]  [ Newest Member: mm0047 ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 DCC, Computers and Electronics for Model Railroads
 Wiring for Building Lighting
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Topic Next Topic: Digitrax DCS150 failure  

jburch
Engine Wiper

Posted - 03/20/2021 :  6:02:14 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am not an expert with electronics but if I get some direction I can solder and make things happen. What I am looking for is interior and exterior lighting for an engine house I am building. I have both 3v led and 12v bulbs which can be mounted on the outside of the building. I also have 12v and 1.5v lights for the interior. I am trying to run four lights, 2 outside, 2 inside and I am looking for the warm glow of incandescent from the late 20s early 30s. I have a couple of wall warts that put out 6v. Can I run them all off of the power source and what is the best way to wire them up with a switch?

I hope there is enough info here and I am not asking too much

railmus
Fireman

Posted - 03/20/2021 :  7:25:01 PM  Show Profile  Visit railmus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I would go with only one voltage. 12 volts DC is my preference as they are easily run off a cheap power pack.

jbvb
Fireman

Premium Member

Posted - 03/20/2021 :  10:12:17 PM  Show Profile  Visit jbvb's Homepage  Reply with Quote