Railroad Line Forums - Enhancement and Editing Features Not Working
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 5 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 80 ]  [ Total: 85 ]  [ Newest Member: alcashj94 ]
 All Forums
 Railroad Line Administrative Forums
 Administrative Posts
 Enhancement and Editing Features Not Working
Next Page
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Topic Next Topic: Custom Avatar
Page: of 2

GNMT76
Engine Wiper

Posted - 01/03/2021 :  3:12:49 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
In the five years I've been posting to the forum, the enhancements (bold, italics, etc.) have never worked.

And when I need to edit a post I've made, attempting to do so only brings up a blank page, causing me either to re-write the entire post or copy, paste and then edit it.

Are the administrators aware of these deficiencies and has anyone tried to fix them?

I use Microsoft 10 and Firefox. Is either a factor here?


Country: USA | Posts: 163

jbvb
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 01/03/2021 :  5:09:40 PM  Show Profile  Visit jbvb's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I use firefox on several different operating systems but haven't tried Win10. I'll try to check that tonight or tomorrow. But if you're using Firefox with NoScript, you will have to let railroad-line.com run JavaScript for the editing to work. I also need to allow JavaScript to post pictures.


Country: USA | Posts: 6702 Go to Top of Page

k9wrangler
Engineer



Posted - 01/03/2021 :  6:06:55 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It is a “feature” of this forum that the original post is not editable ( nor edible).

Karl Scribner
Sunfield Twp. Michigan
H.M.F.I.C
Kentucky Southern Railway
The Spartan Line

Country: USA | Posts: 11783 Go to Top of Page

Rick
Administrator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/03/2021 :  7:36:16 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
We've known about the editing the first post in a thread bug for a long time.
This thread is in the Forum News : How to edit the first post in a thread http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=35711

Haven't had any complaints about the other things not working.

Bold italics underline

They all seem to be working fine.
Are you putting words you want bolded in between the two bold tags?



Country: USA | Posts: 24231 Go to Top of Page

BigLars
Engineer

Premium Member


Posted - 01/03/2021 :  7:46:01 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
TESTING Color and size and bold


Country: USA | Posts: 11894 Go to Top of Page

BigLars
Engineer

Premium Member


Posted - 01/03/2021 :  7:47:39 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Testing Italics
Underline
Strike



Country: USA | Posts: 11894 Go to Top of Page

BigLars
Engineer

Premium Member


Posted - 01/03/2021 :  7:52:24 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Testing

Callouts

Smiles


Hyperlink
http://www.railroad-line.com/

Looks good to me.



Country: USA | Posts: 11894 Go to Top of Page

BigLars
Engineer

Premium Member


Posted - 01/03/2021 :  7:58:52 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The trick is to make sure you had the text within the command start and finish just like pictures.



TESTING Color and size and bold

Also edited this post and it worked.



Edited by - BigLars on 01/03/2021 7:59:52 PM

Country: USA | Posts: 11894 Go to Top of Page

GNMT76
Engine Wiper

Posted - 01/04/2021 :  12:20:44 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
All I can say is that the enhancements don't - and never have worked - including two italicized words here.

JVBV, I have Firefox's latest version. Please clarify what you wrote about running Java script, which, as far as I understand, is included with just about everything.//



Edited by - GNMT76 on 01/16/2021 11:42:57 AM

Country: USA | Posts: 163 Go to Top of Page

jbvb
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 01/04/2021 :  1:23:29 PM  Show Profile  Visit jbvb's Homepage  Reply with Quote
One reason I use Firefox is the 'add-on' called NoScript. It lets you decide which (if any) sites you visit are allowed to send JavaScript or other 'active content' to your browser to be run as programs. I use NoScript because the majority of Internet attacks start by sending hostile 'active content' to the victim's web browser. It also keeps my view of the Internet a lot calmer - no pop-ups, no reminders etc. If you haven't installed it in your Firefox it can't be interfering with RR-Line. A bunch of RR-Line features don't work without JavaScript, so I have to remember to allow it before I use any.

[edit] I tried the Italic tag in the Quick Reply window and it worked. I haven't had a chance to test Firefox on Win10.



Edited by - jbvb on 01/04/2021 1:24:45 PM

Country: USA | Posts: 6702 Go to Top of Page

Rick
Administrator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/04/2021 :  2:45:38 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by GNMT76

All I can say is that the enhancements don't - and never have worked - including two italicized words here.





I'll ask again, when you click any of the icons, bold for example, do you get the 'bold' tags?
Something that looks like this [b][b] just add a / in front of the second b



Country: USA | Posts: 24231 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 01/05/2021 :  10:47:39 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
All you have to do is type in the tags in the edit window yourself ... don't click on the icons ... look at Larry's (BigLars) post above and you will see the tags you need ... just make sure you have an opening and closing tag.

FYI: Snitz Forums uses the standard Bulletin Board codes (BBCode) for formatting ... you can find the reference chart here:

https://www.bbcode.org/reference.php



Country: Canada | Posts: 1208 Go to Top of Page

GNMT76
Engine Wiper

Posted - 01/16/2021 :  11:40:50 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Rick

quote:
Originally posted by GNMT76

All I can say is that the enhancements don't - and never have worked - including two italicized words here.





I'll ask again, when you click any of the icons, bold for example, do you get the 'bold' tags?
Something that looks like this [b] just add a / in front of the second b



Bold [b]/



Country: USA | Posts: 163 Go to Top of Page

jbvb
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 01/16/2021 :  12:41:32 PM  Show Profile  Visit jbvb's Homepage  Reply with Quote
That's the ticket.


Country: USA | Posts: 6702 Go to Top of Page

Rick
Administrator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/16/2021 :  7:44:07 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Somehow you got the word Bold to be in bold, but you need to put the word in-between the two [b]'s.
The second on has the / in front of the b.
I really hope that's clear.
I sent you an e-mail



Country: USA | Posts: 24231 Go to Top of Page

GNMT76
Engine Wiper

Posted - 01/17/2021 :  1:01:37 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Rick

Somehow you got the word Bold to be in bold, but you need to put the word in-between the two [b]'s.
The second on has the / in front of the b.
I really hope that's clear.
I sent you an e-mail



Sure, I always see the tags, and adding the forward slash works. But why is it even necessary to do that? That only tells me that the code is deficient or broken. On every other forum, simply clicking on the appropriate enhancement icon does the trick - as it should.

I also sent a PM to an administrator, who could only tell me that the code is old, and ungrading it would be too costly.



Edited by - GNMT76 on 01/17/2021 1:06:42 PM

Country: USA | Posts: 163 Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Topic Next Topic: Custom Avatar  
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Next Page
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-2020 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 0.26 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000