Railroad Line Forums - Gas-Electric (Doodlebug) Rehab
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 7 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 87 ]  [ Total: 94 ]  [ Newest Member: ifi haver ]
 All Forums
 Shop Talk
 The Diesel Shop
 Gas-Electric (Doodlebug) Rehab
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Topic Next Topic: Can anyone tell me what this is?  

Orionvp17
Fireman

Premium Member

Posted - 12/06/2020 :  11:41:56 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Have been working on a Bachmann Gas-Electric (think "Doodlebug") conversion to DCC recently. This beast was not designed to be worked upon once the factory had locked it up! And "Locked" is the operative word there! Not a project for the faint of heart! But I'm in, the conversion looks relatively straightforward, and I have high hopes. The necessary cosmetic stuff on the exterior will take some care, but the project is within reach of completion.

This unit has passenger compartment lights that are supposed to be "on" full-time. Anyone have any suggestions on how to do this with DCC?

Thanks!

Pete
in Michigan

Country: USA | Posts: 7451

desertdrover
Engineer



Posted - 12/06/2020 :  12:24:03 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Pete. A Digitrax TF4 decoder will turn lights on and off.


Louis
Pacific Northwest Logging in the East Coast
Post count: 5000 posts added to below count.

Country: USA | Posts: 16098 Go to Top of Page

Orionvp17
Fireman

Premium Member

Posted - 12/06/2020 :  12:26:04 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks, Louis! That's in addition to the Tsunami-2 I am installing, right?

Stay safe!

Pete
in Michigan



Country: USA | Posts: 7451 Go to Top of Page

desertdrover
Engineer



Posted - 12/06/2020 :  12:30:12 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Orionvp17

Thanks, Louis! That's in addition to the Tsunami-2 I am installing, right?

Stay safe!

Pete
in Michigan



Yes Pete. Here is a wiring example with motor decoder and the TF4. The TF4 was made to turn on and off lighting and other accessories.




Louis
Pacific Northwest Logging in the East Coast
Post count: 5000 posts added to below count.

Edited by - desertdrover on 12/06/2020 12:31:46 PM

Country: USA | Posts: 16098 Go to Top of Page

desertdrover
Engineer



Posted - 12/06/2020 :  12:33:57 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It is a very small size being 0.461 x 0.31 x 0.161 (11.7mm x 7.8mm x 4.1mm)


Louis
Pacific Northwest Logging in the East Coast
Post count: 5000 posts added to below count.

Edited by - desertdrover on 12/06/2020 12:39:02 PM

Country: USA | Posts: 16098 Go to Top of Page

Orionvp17
Fireman

Premium Member

Posted - 12/06/2020 :  1:09:18 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
And assuming that it is installed with a Tsunami-2, what's the decoder address? The motor decoder will have the car body address.

I'm OK on concepts... it's the pesky little details that bug me!

Many thanks!!

Pete
in Michigan



Country: USA | Posts: 7451 Go to Top of Page

jbvb
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 12/06/2020 :  2:10:18 PM  Show Profile  Visit jbvb's Homepage  Reply with Quote
If the lights are to be on full-time (e.g. whenever DCC voltage is on the rails), why not just install a rectifier bridge and resistor or current-limiting diode appropriate to the LEDs you use? A CLD would power 4-5 white LEDs in series on DCC, after the voltage drop of the bridge and the CLD. Or you could use one of Evan Designs' pre-packaged setups.


Country: USA | Posts: 6686 Go to Top of Page

desertdrover
Engineer



Posted - 12/06/2020 :  2:56:26 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by jbvb

If the lights are to be on full-time (e.g. whenever DCC voltage is on the rails), why not just install a rectifier bridge and resistor or current-limiting diode appropriate to the LEDs you use? A CLD would power 4-5 white LEDs in series on DCC, after the voltage drop of the bridge and the CLD. Or you could use one of Evan Designs' pre-packaged setups.



Hi James, somewhere in that question Pete asked, I thought he was stating that the passenger lights are factory lighted all the time, and he wanted to turn them on and off.
I know my Doodlebug came with lights on all the time, and I changed them to turn on and off separate from the Sound decoder.



Louis
Pacific Northwest Logging in the East Coast
Post count: 5000 posts added to below count.

Country: USA | Posts: 16098 Go to Top of Page

Orionvp17
Fireman

Premium Member

Posted - 12/06/2020 :  3:46:16 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Gentlemen,

Many thanks for the detailed explanations. I have to say, though, that I probably was not clear on two things.... I would like to be able to turn the lights on and off, yes, but that is not critical, and I am a total doofus on the electronic engineering bits and pieces. I figured out what James was saying all by myself, but that took awhile. The bridge rectifiers, current-limiting diodes and such are pretty much beyond me at the moment. My brother-the-rocket-scientist has the EE degree, not me.

That said, the Evan Designs idea has definite possibilities, and for that I thank you!

The lights are, as delivered, constant-On, and with a bulb that really wants to be changed to an LED at some point.

I need to go think....

Thanks to both of you!

Pete
in Michigan





Country: USA | Posts: 7451 Go to Top of Page

desertdrover
Engineer



Posted - 12/07/2020 :  11:33:01 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The above diagram shows how to replace the bulbs with LED's for your passenger section, using the TF4 to turn on and off the lights at will.
Also, you could use a Magnetic Reed Switch if you prefer, wiring the passenger lights with a reed switch to turn on and off by using a hand held magnet. Again, many Google pages on reed switch use and wiring.




Louis
Pacific Northwest Logging in the East Coast
Post count: 5000 posts added to below count.

Country: USA | Posts: 16098 Go to Top of Page

Orionvp17
Fireman

Premium Member

Posted - 12/07/2020 :  1:19:10 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks, Louis!

I appreciate the input!

Pete
in Michigan



Country: USA | Posts: 7451 Go to Top of Page

Bernd
Fireman



Posted - 12/07/2020 :  2:34:52 PM  Show Profile  Visit Bernd's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Pete,

I used a reed switch also on my rotary snow plow. I've got it written up here on my website.

http://www.kingstonemodelworks.com/RotaryPlow-2.html

If you go to the last page there is a video of how the magnet works the switch.

Bernd


New York, Vermont & Northern Rwy. - Route of the Black Diamonds

Country: USA | Posts: 3891 Go to Top of Page
  Topic Next Topic: Can anyone tell me what this is?  
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-2020 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 0.28 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000