Railroad Line Forums - paint question - recreating a blue shay model
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 9 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 182 ]  [ Total: 191 ]  [ Newest Member: MOONVLL ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 Mike Chambers' Craftsman's Corner
 paint question - recreating a blue shay model
Next Page
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: scratch building the idaho hotel in o scale Topic Next Topic: Fos Scale Models Red Hook Wharf Build HO scale
Page: of 2

Jerry Kemp
New Hire

Posted - 10/23/2020 :  03:05:07 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I've been mesmerized by this blue shay since I first saw it in the late 1970. I've been doing On30 for around 5 or 6 years now, and I'm interested in possibly applying a similar blue paint scheme to one of my Bachmann On30 Shays.

Several questions - I'm curious, as I have some, but jr. level air brush experience, what color and other special effects that those more knowledgeable might share regarding this paint scheme.

and second, I'm also fishing for thoughts and comments on the skill level for reproducing/emulating this. Do you think its pretty basic? Or is there some 1970's high tech stuff going on here?

Thank you for your comments, I'm attaching a couple of photo's from 1977 && 1978 for review.


Country: USA | Posts: 17

Jerry Kemp
New Hire

Posted - 10/23/2020 :  03:06:29 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
having problems uploading my jpg image.

Possibly I don't have enough posts.



Country: USA | Posts: 17 Go to Top of Page

Jerry Kemp
New Hire

Posted - 10/23/2020 :  03:08:51 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
hmmmmm - seems I'm continually getting a microsoft error on the server side (I'm not a windows user).

Request object error 'ASP 0104 : 80004005'

Operation not Allowed

/forum/outputFile.asp, line 13

========================================

Any image upload assistance appreciated.



Country: USA | Posts: 17 Go to Top of Page

Jerry Kemp
New Hire

Posted - 10/23/2020 :  03:16:43 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
:(

not able to successfully upload to photo album either.



Country: USA | Posts: 17 Go to Top of Page

robert goslin
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 10/23/2020 :  05:12:11 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Jerry. You can start posting photo's straight away. Not reliant on the number of posts.
Loading photos on the forum, can be a pain. But once you get used to it it's easy. just a bit time consuming.

Here's the instructions which may help.
http://railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=15110

I hope you can get it sorted.


Regards Rob

Despite the cost of living, It's still popular

Country: Australia | Posts: 2519 Go to Top of Page

Craig H
Fireman

Posted - 10/23/2020 :  10:08:22 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It would be nice to make it easy to Load Pictures on this Forum


Country: | Posts: 1789 Go to Top of Page

Jerry Kemp
New Hire

Posted - 10/23/2020 :  1:43:18 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
thanks for the URL - I'll check that out and try again.


quote:
Originally posted by robert goslin

Hi Jerry. You can start posting photo's straight away. Not reliant on the number of posts.
Loading photos on the forum, can be a pain. But once you get used to it it's easy. just a bit time consuming.

Here's the instructions which may help.
http://railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=15110

I hope you can get it sorted.








Country: USA | Posts: 17 Go to Top of Page

Jerry Kemp
New Hire

Posted - 10/23/2020 :  2:00:09 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
hmmmm.... Robert, again, thanks for the instructions.

Actually, I guess I had already figured out the upload proceedure, it was/is just broken.

the "ASP" error above in my 3rd post were the results of my upload attempt.



Country: USA | Posts: 17 Go to Top of Page

Graffen
Fireman



Posted - 10/23/2020 :  4:35:12 PM  Show Profile  Visit Graffen's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Jerry Kemp

hmmmm.... Robert, again, thanks for the instructions.

Actually, I guess I had already figured out the upload proceedure, it was/is just broken.

the "ASP" error above in my 3rd post were the results of my upload attempt.


I've found that it's the image size that causes the error in 9 out of 10 cases....
Try reducing it more.


Michael Graff
"Deo Adjuvante Labor Proficit"
Swedish custom model builder.
http://sites.google.com/site/graffairbrushart

Country: Sweden | Posts: 1633 Go to Top of Page

Rick
Administrator

Premium Member


Posted - 10/23/2020 :  5:35:45 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You're picture is either larger than 200 kb and/or contains something other than an alpha/numeric character in it.


Country: USA | Posts: 24102 Go to Top of Page

Jerry Kemp
New Hire

Posted - 10/24/2020 :  04:14:15 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Rick

You're picture is either larger than 200 kb and/or contains something other than an alpha/numeric character in it.



That may be it. I'm 1/10th the max 2 Mb upload size at around 200k, but I do have other characters. I'll try cleaning up the file name.



Country: USA | Posts: 17 Go to Top of Page

Jerry Kemp
New Hire

Posted - 10/24/2020 :  04:19:34 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
cleaned up file name.




Edited by - Jerry Kemp on 10/24/2020 04:22:45 AM

Country: USA | Posts: 17 Go to Top of Page

Jerry Kemp
New Hire

Posted - 10/24/2020 :  04:25:33 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote





Country: USA | Posts: 17 Go to Top of Page

TRAINS1941
Engineer

Premium Member


Posted - 10/24/2020 :  08:37:30 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I see you mastered the picture posting.

Great pictures thanks for posting them.


Jerry

"And in the end, itís not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years." A. Lincoln

Country: USA | Posts: 12891 Go to Top of Page

Rick
Administrator

Premium Member


Posted - 10/24/2020 :  08:45:02 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Jerry, glad you were able to post your pics.
The max file size of a picture is 200 KB not MB.



Country: USA | Posts: 24102 Go to Top of Page

Jerry Kemp
New Hire

Posted - 10/24/2020 :  5:20:18 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by TRAINS1941

I see you mastered the picture posting.

Great pictures thanks for posting them.



Thank you.

Some times it just takes a while.

Either way, I got a couple of pics uploaded.

I appreciate everyone review the pics and any comments that might be provided.



Country: USA | Posts: 17 Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Previous Topic: scratch building the idaho hotel in o scale Topic Next Topic: Fos Scale Models Red Hook Wharf Build HO scale  
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Next Page
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-2020 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 0.7 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000