Railroad Line Forums - Coaling facility build
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 1 | Anonymous Members: 1 | Guests: 224 ]  [ Total: 226 ]  [ Newest Member: ifi haver ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 HOn30 and HOn3 Forum
 Coaling facility build
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Topic Next Topic: MMI K-27 minimum radius
Page: of 3

George D
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 07/11/2020 :  4:01:58 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by deemery

quote:
Originally posted by George D

Dave, I used real coal dust to weather the inside of a coaling station I built. You need to crush up some coal to detail the inside and the dust can be spread like chalk dust with a brush.

George



Santa will need to bring me some coal for Christmas

dave



I guess you didn't save last year's coal.



Fly Army

Country: USA | Posts: 16559 Go to Top of Page

jbvb
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 07/11/2020 :  5:18:34 PM  Show Profile  Visit jbvb's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I have some ready-made coal dust in the sack I keep around for my forge.


Country: USA | Posts: 6686 Go to Top of Page

deemery
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 07/11/2020 :  6:10:18 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by jbvb

I have some ready-made coal dust in the sack I keep around for my forge.



Well, I hope you can come and visit before Christmas

dave


Modeling 1890s (because the voices in my head told me to)

Country: USA | Posts: 8735 Go to Top of Page

deemery
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 07/12/2020 :  1:15:14 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I clamped the crane making sure it was plumb. After threading the line, I put a little bit of transparent glue on the line sitting in the top pulley (the line wants to fall off that pulley onto the axle.) Then I added the clamping tweezer for some weight, and applied glue (NESL Flamingo Glue because it dries clear) to the line, The idea is the glue will give the line rigidity so it retains that weighted line look.

I also did the bucket bails and chemically weathered the FSM buckets (they're smaller than the buckets from the DP kit.) A photo of that later once they're dry. Finally, I did some painting/weathering on the crane mechanism, including a little bit of glossy black 'pearl' Pan Pastel on the gears to make them look lubricated.

The roof is drying, after I added rafters. I now need to decide on roofing.

dave


Modeling 1890s (because the voices in my head told me to)

Country: USA | Posts: 8735 Go to Top of Page

deemery
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 07/12/2020 :  3:08:43 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The slate quarry manager gave the narrow gauge railroad superintendent a good deal on some slate shingles left over from a previous project :-)


All I need to do now is add the coal bunker behind the crane and finish the buckets. They've been chemically blackened, but I need to touch up the weathering and add some coal to the buckets. I'm also going to add a ramp and a wheelbarrow. I figure the coal gets shoveled into a wheelbarrow, dumped into the bin behind the crane, then shoveled into the crane's buckets and into the loco.


I'm pondering adding a small bin, a stove, and some smaller buckets for sand.

dave


Modeling 1890s (because the voices in my head told me to)

Country: USA | Posts: 8735 Go to Top of Page

deemery
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 07/12/2020 :  8:11:03 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
All but done:


I need to put coal into the bunker, arrange the buckets, decide if I want to add sand and do that, plus the ground cover, etc. Also I'll add a ladder for the crew to get up onto the engine.

Overall, this turned out really nice, I'm very happy with it. In many respects it was a series of improvisations, those don't always come out so well....

dave


Modeling 1890s (because the voices in my head told me to)

Country: USA | Posts: 8735 Go to Top of Page

jbvb
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 07/12/2020 :  9:01:31 PM  Show Profile  Visit jbvb's Homepage  Reply with Quote
That came out well. Would there have been some sort of lever or pull rope to swing the boom, or would they have just pulled on the hoisting line?


Country: USA | Posts: 6686 Go to Top of Page

deemery
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 07/12/2020 :  9:13:59 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I haven't seen anything to move the boom, so I presume they'd just drag the line, or shove the handle of the winch.

Somewhere, I'm sure, there is some prototype info on this. (Without that, there's no reason entering this in a model contest :-( )

dave


Modeling 1890s (because the voices in my head told me to)

Country: USA | Posts: 8735 Go to Top of Page

railman28
Fireman



Posted - 07/12/2020 :  9:39:41 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Very Sharp Dave. It came out great. On Moving the boom, I've seen many prototypes without handles or anything to swing the boom. Even the one that the Central Pacific and V&T used which had pneumatic power for the lift but nothing for turning the boom.

Bob


It's only make-believe

Country: USA | Posts: 5692 Go to Top of Page

George D
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 07/13/2020 :  08:24:33 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Well done, Dave.

George


Fly Army

Country: USA | Posts: 16559 Go to Top of Page

tloc
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 07/13/2020 :  09:32:34 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Very nice Dave.

TomO



Country: USA | Posts: 4195 Go to Top of Page

Bernd
Fireman



Posted - 07/13/2020 :  09:36:54 AM  Show Profile  Visit Bernd's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Nice job Dave.

New York, Vermont & Northern Rwy. - Route of the Black Diamonds

Country: USA | Posts: 3891 Go to Top of Page

Michael Hohn
Fireman



Posted - 07/13/2020 :  09:43:11 AM  Show Profile  Visit Michael Hohn's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Sometimes improv is no joke. Well done.


Country: USA | Posts: 6974 Go to Top of Page

mark_dalrymple
Fireman

Posted - 07/13/2020 :  4:53:34 PM  Show Profile  Send mark_dalrymple an AOL message  Reply with Quote
Looks really great, Dave.

Those reversible tweezers are great for holding lines taught while they glue.

Cheers, Mark.



Country: New Zealand | Posts: 1256 Go to Top of Page

deemery
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 07/13/2020 :  5:28:01 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I use hemostats to add tension to truss rods. Usually I weave a single strand of monofilament. But sometimes I can't do that, and somewhere I have a photo of a small flat car with -8- hemostats holding the truss rods.


A hemostat is heavier than this lock-channel tweezer, and that's a consideration.

dave


Modeling 1890s (because the voices in my head told me to)

Edited by - deemery on 07/13/2020 5:29:00 PM

Country: USA | Posts: 8735 Go to Top of Page
Page: of 3 Topic Next Topic: MMI K-27 minimum radius  
 New Topic |   Reply to Topic | 
Previous Page | Next Page
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-2020 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 0.5 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000