Railroad Line Forums - Painting Brass
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 1 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 124 ]  [ Total: 125 ]  [ Newest Member: john.l.schooff@gmail.com ]
 All Forums
 General Forums
 The Classroom
 Painting Brass
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Topic Next Topic: Car Capacity  

GNMT76
Engine Wiper

Posted - 03/07/2019 :  11:33:14 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Does brass require any special prep prior to painting or "take" one type of paint (e.g., water- or oil-based) better than another? I've never used brass before and am expecting delivery of Tomar's Hayes bumpers soon. If yes on either or both counts, details appreciated.

Thanks.

Coaltrain
Fireman

Posted - 03/07/2019 :  12:00:02 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
many people will tell you that you can't paint brass with acrylic, but I have done it for years, it's all I use. with anything you paint you need to make sure it is clean first. if they are solid brass dip them in some lacquer thinner and scrub a little to loosen the grease and dirt. After that I would sand blast, if you don't have a sand blaster just prime it with some Dupli-color etching primer (get it at an auto part store). top coat with whatever you like after that. For the record, I have skipped the etching printer and it all seems to work fine. I have three brass steam locomotives that I have just painted acrylic on and they are working out just fine.

Paint is paint, it's all in the prep.

GNMT76
Engine Wiper

Posted - 03/07/2019 :  12:31:57 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks, Coaltrain!

jbvb
Fireman

Premium Member