Railroad Line Forums - Installing a diorama video?
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 6 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 121 ]  [ Total: 127 ]  [ Newest Member: Midwest Mark ]
 All Forums
 General Forums
 The Crew Lounge
 Installing a diorama video?
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: Your favorite songs Topic Next Topic: Sunday Morning lounge  

jaynjay
Fireman

Premium Member

Posted - 08/10/2018 :  11:42:55 AM  Show Profile  Visit jaynjay's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I am about to install a 20x14 inch diorama on 2-inch pink foam. I plan on using 0.187 hardboard for the base; but I have never done this before. Anyone know of a good U-Tube video or link that shows someone doing this? Do a chunk out a 2 inch deep hole and remove the foam where it will be; just lay it there and Mickey-Mouse it in with plaster? Any ideas or video help would be appreciated.
John

Blazeman
Section Hand

Posted - 08/10/2018 :  12:44:25 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Are you wanting to simply drop in your base and have the foam sheet surround it? How deep do you want the base to be inside the foam?

jaynjay
Fireman

Premium Member

Posted - 08/10/2018 :  12:49:26 PM  Show Profile  Visit jaynjay's Homepage  Reply with Quote
The pink foam base is 2 inches thick. The Masonite is 3/16 inch thick plus 0.1 inch thick art board. I don't want to dig up anymore foam...I've still got a 1/2 thick pink insulation covering everything since the last time I dug up foam insulation. Maybe lay it on top of my "flat" layout and put some Scultamold on it or something. Just looking for ideas

John

railman28
Fireman