Railroad Line Forums - Cutting sheet products
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 5 | Anonymous Members: 1 | Guests: 110 ]  [ Total: 116 ]  [ Newest Member: Dizzy ]
 All Forums
 General Forums
 The Classroom
 Cutting sheet products
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: Making trees from ming fern Topic Next Topic: The proper method of wrapping or winding line  

JayRs
New Hire

Posted - 10/28/2017 :  12:13:50 PM  Show Profile  Visit JayRs's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I'm just starting out building some craftsman kits and trying to develop the needed skills. One of these is to accurately cut wood or plastic sheet goods. The three basic cuts I'm thinking about are 1) a straight cut, 2) a two sided interior cut (think of a "L", and 3) and interior box (think a window cut out).

Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks- Jay

RichBeau
Fireman

Posted - 10/28/2017 :  12:37:12 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Jay,

For straight cuts of sheet - a good steel straight edge and a sharp knife with a #11 blade. Personally I purchase #11's by the 100-pack and change blades often. More often than you think.

For the inside corners many folks use a right-angle punch. While not cheap Micromark has some nice ones.

If the sheet is particularly dry then masking tape helps prevent splitting.

Edited by - RichBeau on 10/28/2017 1:56:10 PM

deemery
Fireman

Premium Member

Posted - 10/28/2017 :  12:58:20 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote