Railroad Line Forums - The grandson layout
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 11 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 108 ]  [ Total: 119 ]  [ Newest Member: Poul Low Moller ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 Model Railroad Construction
 The grandson layout
Previous Page
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: Lighting the Layout with Track Lights Topic Next Topic: HTRR - Chapter 2
Page: of 3

Jeff Compton
Engine Wiper

Premium Member

Posted - 02/14/2017 :  09:05:43 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
James - Thanks for checking in and the suggestions. All the sections are bolted together and so they can be easily separated if the layout needs to be moved. I also bolted part of it to the wall so it is pretty solid and secure. I am planning on using the Woodland Scenics foam risers to create the grades. Great suggestion on the foam. I'm going to try not to plant one solid piece of foam on top of another, especially where I have to install those switches. I'm going to have to do a little research on securing those Tortoise machines to foam!


Country: | Posts: 277 Go to Top of Page

Jeff Compton
Engine Wiper

Premium Member

Posted - 03/11/2017 :  3:28:37 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
There is actually some progress on the layout. I continue to get a little overwhelmed at times, not wanting to make too many mistakes which impedes the progress. I finally got to a point where I needed to get some roadbed down. As you can see, I am using the Woodland Scenics risers and roadbed. I hope to continue the progress along the back wall this week.



Country: | Posts: 277 Go to Top of Page

David Clark
Crew Chief

Posted - 03/11/2017 :  6:28:52 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Jeff, from what I have seen on foam substrate you need to insert a piece of wood into a well in the foam that you can then screw the switch machine to. Pretty easy to find similar ideas on the net. I was thinking of using foam at one point then switched to open-grid system with risers. That was mostly due to having more familiarity with open-grid. I am sure any obstacles can be overcome.
Good luck,
Dave



Country: Canada | Posts: 566 Go to Top of Page

MarkF
Engineer

Premium Member


Posted - 03/11/2017 :  10:54:21 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Great progress Jeff, but don't be afraid to make mistakes. You will, and that's ok. It's how we learn. Believe me, we all make mistakes! Better than that though is down the road, when things get running, you will see something and come up with a different way to do it. For example, you make decide that a turnout should be moved, or wish you had run a certain track a different way. Don't be afraid to make those changes as it will improve your layout and your level of satisfaction. Its not a mistake, but rather an improvement. So changes are in your future and that's ok! Just keep building and have fun!

Mark

Country: USA | Posts: 13430 Go to Top of Page

Jeff Compton
Engine Wiper

Premium Member

Posted - 03/12/2017 :  10:54:58 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
David - I have read that as well. There was an article on using double-sided foam tape to secure the wood to the foam. The author has used this for around 5 years and has had no problems yet so that is the method I believe I will attempt. I am using 1 1/2" foam so I have some longer, sturdier piano wire to run form the switch machines to the switches.
Mark - That is what I have to get telling myself so I can continue to move forward. I need to get to the point where I can begin wiring the layout and getting trains running. I think that will be the best way to see how things are working and if I need to make any changes though Rob provided me with a design that fits well with the are I have.
I appreciate the input from both of you!
Jeff



Country: | Posts: 277 Go to Top of Page

desertdrover
Engineer

Premium Member


Posted - 03/12/2017 :  11:31:29 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Jeff Compton

There is actually some progress on the layout. I continue to get a little overwhelmed at times, not wanting to make too many mistakes which impedes the progress. I finally got to a point where I needed to get some roadbed down. As you can see, I am using the Woodland Scenics risers and roadbed. I hope to continue the progress along the back wall this week.



That is some nice progress going on there Jeff! Don't let yourself get overwhelmed, but do take the time to plan your track work and get it right, because there is nothing worse than have bad track and never enjoying the layout. Scenery and other stuff can get by with hit and miss, but once the track work is down and in working order, everything else will fall into place fast, and move right along. So you are moving with the right ideas, and at the right speed here. Nice job!


Louis
Pacific Northwest Logging in the East Coast

Country: USA | Posts: 17484 Go to Top of Page

Jeff Compton
Engine Wiper

Premium Member

Posted - 03/12/2017 :  3:02:25 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks Louis! I have read enough posts on this forum to really understand your comment about getting the track work right. That's probably the biggest reason I am taking my time with this first step. I hope the Woodland Scenics risers will help with easy transitions between elevations. I also have the FastTracks sweepsticks which really help making smooth curves. With a trip coming up soon to the warmer climate of Florida, I won't be making much progress until April but I hope to get all the roadbed down by the end of April.
Jeff



Country: | Posts: 277 Go to Top of Page

Jeff Compton
Engine Wiper

Premium Member

Posted - 05/01/2017 :  6:46:55 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote




http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/data/Jeff Compton/201751183044_IMG_2974.JPG[/img'

I finally finished putting down the risers and roadbed. I ran the bus wires underneath the layout and put male/female connectors between the different modules so it will be easier to dismantle and move. I am now in the process of soldering feeders wires to the various switches. There are two areas where there are 3-4 switches in the same area so I cut that area out. It makes it a lot easier to wire and solder. My soldering skills leave much to be desired but I seem to be making good joints between the wires and the track. Slowly but surely the layout is starting to take place. I am looking forward to getting some trains up and running!
Jeff



Country: | Posts: 277 Go to Top of Page

Jeff Compton
Engine Wiper

Premium Member

Posted - 05/01/2017 :  6:49:32 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote



This is the picture in the link that won't open!



Country: | Posts: 277 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 05/02/2017 :  04:45:08 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Jeff,

It's really starting to take shape, and is coming together very good. Nice watching your progress.

Take care,
Rob.




Free Layout Design Help / Some Design Ideas (All Scales)

Country: Canada | Posts: 853 Go to Top of Page

desertdrover
Engineer

Premium Member


Posted - 05/02/2017 :  09:42:01 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Things appear to be going along nicely for you Jeff. If you think your soldering skills leave much to be desired, then you will find it doesn't take long to sharpen them up after doing any kind of railroad modeling.
It's always nice when you get to the ability to run trains as you continue to build the layout, it just seems to make things more interesting, and takes the boredom out of just building.


Louis
Pacific Northwest Logging in the East Coast

Country: USA | Posts: 17484 Go to Top of Page

MarkF
Engineer

Premium Member


Posted - 05/02/2017 :  2:20:49 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Great progress Jeff! Your taking the right approach; finish up the wiring and get trains rolling. First, as Louis implied, it's nice to sometimes just run something to take the boredom out of some of the projects down the road, but just as important, you should run it a lot in order to find any issues that may arise or changes you might want to make. It's easier to do it now than later.

Mark

Country: USA | Posts: 13430 Go to Top of Page

Jeff Compton
Engine Wiper

Premium Member

Posted - 05/02/2017 :  3:53:43 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks Mark and Louis. The wiring process is slow but I hope to get it done in the next few weeks. Soldering is still my Achilles Heel but I keep plugging away. I plan on running trains a lot before any ballast or other scenery begins. I'm sure there will be issues that will need to be addressed!

Jeff



Country: | Posts: 277 Go to Top of Page

Jeff Compton
Engine Wiper

Premium Member

Posted - 09/06/2017 :  10:37:44 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Finally got all the wiring issues/shorts resolved and trains are running! Thanks to the forum members who helped with issues I ran into with the wiring.
I am having trouble posting pictures on the progress (I keep getting a message that the web page is either under maintenance or has a web page error) but I have installed the Barrett Hill touch toggles to my switch machines and have made three control panels for the layout. They are very easy to install and there is no soldering involved. The toggles are working quite nicely and I like the red/green visual of whether a switch is thrown or not.
Running trains and making sure I have no track problems before ballasting. The diesels run fine but I have a 2-6-0 who's front trucks derail at a couple of places which I am trying to rectify.



Country: | Posts: 277 Go to Top of Page

jbvb
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 09/06/2017 :  12:28:29 PM  Show Profile  Visit jbvb's Homepage  Reply with Quote
RR-Line was in fact broken by an attack earlier this week. The messages it gives when a picture is too big (more than 800 pixels wide) or has a name RR-Line can't digest (stick to alphabet and digits to be safe) is not very clear. There are tutorials.

Glad to hear about the progress, and that you like your control panels. Regarding the 2-6-0, can you view what happens to the wheels from track level? If the locations are awkward, another forum member had success making a 'slow motion' phone video to diagnose a problem.



Country: USA | Posts: 5243 Go to Top of Page
Page: of 3 Previous Topic: Lighting the Layout with Track Lights Topic Next Topic: HTRR - Chapter 2  
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Previous Page
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-17 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 0.38 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000