Railroad Line Forums - Free Design Help
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 1 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 77 ]  [ Total: 78 ]  [ Newest Member: ida ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 Layout Design / Operation Sig Forum
 Free Design Help
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: shelf layout composition Topic Next Topic: Wednesday Night Ops on the CL&W
Page: of 19

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 02/04/2014 :  06:07:08 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I sent you an email.

quote:
Originally posted by PEIR

Hello Robert,

I would be interested in some planning. I built bench work and my dimensions are 2' wide by 12'6" long, 2'x2' center section then a 2' wide by 8' long leg. I was trying to go after a modified Kalmbach/Model Railroader "Pike City Belt Line" but am at a loss at where to start.



Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 644 Go to Top of Page

BMW
Section Hand



Posted - 03/11/2014 :  8:29:43 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Robert,
Here are the basic ideas I was toying with;




The room is designed in Autodesk Inventor. I can output the base file in almost any form you need for importing. Let me know and I will export and get it out to you.



Country: Canada | Posts: 97 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 03/11/2014 :  8:58:15 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Send it to me as both DFX and DWG, I had problems importing before with an earlier version of my software but I recently upgraded to the latest one so I will see if it works any better.

Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 644 Go to Top of Page

danpickard
Fireman

Posted - 03/14/2014 :  06:22:17 AM  Show Profile  Visit danpickard's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Rob,
Great thread. Has some potential to see a lot of good ideas tested.

Will have to put pen to paper and get a rough design up for you to have a look at. My usual trials with track design software normally just result in headaches and frustration, but can happily work with 1:1 paper templates for a real size feel. A decent digital rendering of my layout ideas would be handy :)

Cheers,
Dan Pickard


http://www.austnarrowgaugeconvention.com/

Country: Australia | Posts: 1326 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 03/14/2014 :  1:53:32 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by danpickard

Hi Rob,
Great thread. Has some potential to see a lot of good ideas tested.

Will have to put pen to paper and get a rough design up for you to have a look at. My usual trials with track design software normally just result in headaches and frustration, but can happily work with 1:1 paper templates for a real size feel. A decent digital rendering of my layout ideas would be handy :)

Cheers,
Dan Pickard



Whenever you're ready, I'll be here.


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 644 Go to Top of Page

jmartin
Engine Wiper

Posted - 10/31/2014 :  5:17:18 PM  Show Profile  Visit jmartin's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Rob,

I'd be interested in a bit of help. I have been looking at your designs for a while now, especially your 3-level layout in On30. I am looking at doing something similar but very freelance and perfect for a one man operation. My space is about 12'-6" x 16'-8" corner of my garage which I am converting into a hangout area. I have no other room in the house for a layout. I have the space drawn up in AutoCAD and I can send you what the current area looks like.

I am interested in a freelance mining/logging operation that goes from the mountains/woods to the coast, much like your layout under design. I am not against 3 decks, but would prefer 18" wide benchwork so as to give better visibility.I am in the beginning phases of the getting the space cleaned out and soon to be getting the walls patched and re-painted. The garage will become a movie theater and game room for the family and neighbors. Planning on having a movie screen and projector (have), arcade machine (built already), pinball (looking for), and dart board. The railroad is going to have to coexist with all this, but it shouldn't be a problem. If you are interested please let me know.

John


John Martin
Fort Mill, SC
http://lancasterandchesterinon30.blogspot.com

Country: USA | Posts: 175 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 10/31/2014 :  5:37:41 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi John,

Thanks for the invite to help and I'm always interested in working on a new design. If you can, please export the space diagram to a .dwg file and email it to me.

I did mock up my 3-deck layout and I didn't like the look of the 2-foot wide shelves either and was trying to modify the plan for 18" wide shelves for the top 2 decks, so I know what you mean.

With the amount of space you have, I think we can come up with something interesting for you. I really can't see it being necessary to go with 3 decks, but it's nice to know we have that option.

You didn't really say it, but I assume you're working in On30?

Take care,
Rob.


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 644 Go to Top of Page

jmartin
Engine Wiper

Posted - 10/31/2014 :  7:23:24 PM  Show Profile  Visit jmartin's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Yes On30. I considered HO since I have some HO equipment but I like scratch building. I scale affords me that luxury easier at a scale I can easily see. If we can do 2 decks versus 3 I'll take a 24" wide shelf but for 3 decks I'll limit to 18". I'd like a good bit of switching at each end with a couple stops in between. I think 4 industries or so at the wharf end and a couple mines and logging camps at the other. I think your layout is exactly what I'm after but set up in an L shaped version. I'd use a cart to load the train cartridge from one end to the other so as to avoid dropping a train. Ideally a lot of scenery and a good mixture of buildings.

John Martin
Fort Mill, SC
http://lancasterandchesterinon30.blogspot.com

Country: USA | Posts: 175 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 11/01/2014 :  11:30:33 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi John,

I thought you had the entire 12'-6" x 16'-8" space for the layout, I didn't realize it was just an L-shaped shelf. I also found the thread you started and read thru it. Do you want to continue on that thread or start a new one?

I will need to know what type of track you plan to use, your minimum radius and frog number. In the other thread you also mention a helix, are you still going that route? You also talk about portable modules, is that still part of the plan?

Take care,
Rob.


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 644 Go to Top of Page

jmartin
Engine Wiper

Posted - 11/01/2014 :  2:14:46 PM  Show Profile  Visit jmartin's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Rob,

You are correct. I only have the shelf area available in that space. About 4' off that space I'll have seating for the movies. I'm looking at 18" minimum radius and #5 turnouts throughout. I'd like to handlay the track so no worries about any special track work. I'll be using a fast tracks jig for the turnouts and any crossings will be built in place.

I'll continue that thread I started previously. No helix involved. I'll use cassettes to change levels, and no portable modules.

I had considered making the whole layout portable using (3)4'x6' modules connected end to end in an island style layout which is still a option. it would allow me to take the whole layout to a show and gives a continuous run. I could still use cassettes to change levels but just let trains run when folks are visiting. Benchwork would be shadow box (viewed from end)like below. I can rearrange some items in the room to give me a space of about 8'x20'. When not in use the layout can roll right up to the wall and give more space for entertaining. Granted this style of layout would be a bit heavier and harder to move around but it would be very rigid. I'd like about 4" below track level for scenery/water putting my clear spacing deck to deck at 20".



Hope your catching my drift on this. The image above it would basically be the peninsula jutting to the left and ignoring the rest. I actually think a island style layout is more suitable for my intended purpose, which is something I can take to shows that offers a continuous run. Almost like building a 4x8 but a bit more extensive with a 2" thick backdrop/support down the middle to support the deck above.


John Martin
Fort Mill, SC
http://lancasterandchesterinon30.blogspot.com

Edited by - jmartin on 11/01/2014 2:22:17 PM

Country: USA | Posts: 175 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 11/02/2014 :  8:42:06 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I continued this on John's layout thread.

http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=41744


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Edited by - robchant on 11/02/2014 8:43:32 PM

Country: Canada | Posts: 644 Go to Top of Page

milocomarty
Fireman



Posted - 11/03/2014 :  06:09:47 AM  Show Profile  Visit milocomarty's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Rob, I could use some help on designing a timesaver in Gauge One, very limited space L shaped 11' on the long side and 6'4" on the short one, module depth 3'

http://martinwelberg.wordpress.com/
http://cardiganbaycoastalrailroad.wordpress.com/

Country: Netherlands | Posts: 6628 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 11/03/2014 :  12:52:05 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hey Marty,

You had my interest pique when you said Gauge 1. I've never worked with that scale before so this could be a lot of fun.

If you using true #1 track, I only have Marklin and Peco track components in my library. The Peco stuff is limited to only #6 turnouts (no crossings), the Marklin track offers more options. However, I do have a lot available for G scale.

So I will have to know what type of track you'll be using and hopefully I have it in my library.

Take care,
Rob.


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 644 Go to Top of Page

milocomarty
Fireman



Posted - 11/03/2014 :  1:22:56 PM  Show Profile  Visit milocomarty's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Both will do Rob, just need some kinda trackplan, Marklin offers track from another supplier, but take the medium #6 turnouts, otherwise it will look to narrow gauge and it's a standard gauge layout running Bavarian "glaskasten" and G10 boxcars, thinking about a small enginehouse and a boxcar workshop with a bit of switching inbetween..

http://martinwelberg.wordpress.com/
http://cardiganbaycoastalrailroad.wordpress.com/

Country: Netherlands | Posts: 6628 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 11/03/2014 :  1:37:34 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Ok, sounds good so far. Since I am not familiar with the standards for the scale, you will have to fill in a few blanks for me. What's the minimum radius? What is the centre-to-centre track spacing? How long are the locomotives you will be using? How long is a freight car? That should get me started. Do you want to start a new thread for this, keep it on this thread, or do it by email?

Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 644 Go to Top of Page
Page: of 19 Previous Topic: shelf layout composition Topic Next Topic: Wednesday Night Ops on the CL&W  
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Previous Page | Next Page
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-14 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 0.39 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000