Railroad Line Forums - Free Design Help
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 9 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 87 ]  [ Total: 96 ]  [ Newest Member: Dan ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 Layout Design / Operation Sig Forum
 Free Design Help
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: shelf layout composition Topic Next Topic: Wednesday Night Ops on the CL&W
Page: of 19

railbuilderdhd
Engine Wiper



Posted - 10/26/2016 :  7:52:45 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by robchant

Hi Dave,

Glad you found out that I didn't alter the bench work except for rounding the corners. As for thanking me, getting your son interested in model railroading is thanks enough. Just glad I could help.

Take care,
Rob.



Rob,
You will be glad to hear that my son at 4 years old is in love with trains. I figure with this layout and my love of the hobby he has no choice.
I may be asking more questions later but for now I'm really thankful for what you have done. If you think of anything new please be sure to let me know. As far as the layout and progress I'll be sure I start a post for that soon.

dave



Country: USA | Posts: 355 Go to Top of Page

railbuilderdhd
Engine Wiper



Posted - 10/26/2016 :  8:24:51 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Rob,

I was getting started on the layout I wanted to know if you can give me a little help. Can you tell me the radius of the inside mainline curves. I think it will help me to best determine what will fit and how based on your design.

Thanks.
Dave



Country: USA | Posts: 355 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 10/27/2016 :  8:37:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Dave,

The radius I used are as follows:



Also, there is only one critical elevation, and that is on the bridge over the wye which has to be 3" railhead-to-railhead.

Good luck.

Take care,
Rob.


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Edited by - robchant on 10/27/2016 8:40:33 PM

Country: Canada | Posts: 623 Go to Top of Page

Frank Palmer
Fireman



Posted - 10/28/2016 :  09:53:04 AM  Show Profile  Visit Frank Palmer's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Rob and Dave, looking at the plan I was wondering if the elevations at the Y should be reversed. This way the mine (Im guessing thats what that is) is in a bowl. Since the track is going to be inclining from grade to 3.

Make the trestles and the Y overpass at grade level and make the mine and the engine house 3 above grade. That would put the mine and the engine house on a hill and be more of a focal point.



Country: USA | Posts: 3588 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 10/28/2016 :  2:09:29 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Frank,

It's actually an open pit quarry, the "mine" you see is the truck dump and the tipple for loading the cars.

Take care,
Rob.


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 623 Go to Top of Page

railbuilderdhd
Engine Wiper



Posted - 10/28/2016 :  2:35:08 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by robchant

Hi Dave,

The radius I used are as follows:



Also, there is only one critical elevation, and that is on the bridge over the wye which has to be 3" railhead-to-railhead.

Good luck.

Take care,
Rob.



Hi Rob
Thanks for coming through with this. A real help. I can see some of my curves are spot on with yours here.

I'll post when I complete the layout.

Davr



Country: USA | Posts: 355 Go to Top of Page

railbuilderdhd
Engine Wiper



Posted - 11/16/2016 :  2:20:04 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Rob and guys,

I wanted to give an update on my layout as I have not stopped working on it. I'm really happy with what Rob came up with and I was able to get a little more room to the left side of the layout so I can get a yard or more scenery of a town there. Love to know what you think folks.
Dave




Country: USA | Posts: 355 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 11/16/2016 :  3:44:29 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Dave,

It looks good, thanks for the update!

Take care,
Rob.


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 623 Go to Top of Page

railbuilderdhd
Engine Wiper



Posted - 11/17/2016 :  1:19:26 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Well, I was able to sketch in new tracks and more info but not with the track layout program yet. I'm now thinking I want to have the layout on the left top side under scenery. This will hide the yard and give me more area for scenery. I will need to work out the details but I have one thing going for me. I can have the yard go down in elevation a little because I'm using a layer of foam on the bench work.

I've made some changes to the switch areas and I've connected the top main line to the bottom engine facility entrance. This will require more help figuring out how to wire this correctly but I'm sure it's not that hard to get correct.

Let me know what you think about it now.

Dave




Country: USA | Posts: 355 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 11/17/2016 :  1:30:31 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
What elevations are you using? The reversing connection you made will be steep since the upper track is elevated to gain height to cross over the engine house tracks.

Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Country: Canada | Posts: 623 Go to Top of Page

Jeff Compton
Engine Wiper

Premium Member

Posted - 11/18/2016 :  3:07:18 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Rob,
I am hoping to post the picture of my benchwork. I will then post more details about the proposed layout.
Jeff




Country: | Posts: 253 Go to Top of Page

Jeff Compton
Engine Wiper

Premium Member

Posted - 11/18/2016 :  3:18:06 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I enclosed both feet and inches in the drawing. The proposed layout is HO scale, Transition Period and is set in New England. I have a lot of Boston and Maine! I would like to have continuous running capabilities since I have grandchildren who this is being built for but would also like some switching possibilities. I will be using MicroEngineering code 83 track.
A is what will be seen as you walk in the room. It is one of the few place I can take the elevation below the benchwork and was thinking of some hilly terrain with a possible trestle. B and D would possibly be towns. I have quite a few craftsman kits and would like to get a few of them on the layout. I was also hoping for a smaller water area where I could place a few waterfront structures and boats, possibly around C that might separate the towns.
I do have the Woodland scenic 3% risers so I could possibly get some elevation changes between some of the tracks, maybe with part of the town in B elevated in the back corner.
I was also looking at a small yard and turntable at E, possibly using the new Ladder System by Microengineering.
I'm probably dreaming a little big for a smaller layout but I would love to see what ideas you might come up with to help me on this journey.
Sorry the drawing is not "quite" to scale but the measurements are accurate!
Thanks again,
Jeff



Country: | Posts: 253 Go to Top of Page

robchant
Crew Chief

Posted - 11/18/2016 :  3:45:04 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Jeff,

Is this bench work already built? What minimum radius do you want? Is all the bench work against a wall?

Take care,
Rob.


Rob Chant
Glace Bay, NS
CANADA

WEBSITE: http://www.railwaysofns.com/SLCRyCo/index.php
TREAD: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=42599

Edited by - robchant on 11/18/2016 4:34:17 PM

Country: Canada | Posts: 623 Go to Top of Page

jbvb
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 11/19/2016 :  11:20:09 PM  Show Profile  Visit jbvb's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Another point about Dave's changes from Nov. 17: The turnout connecting the new yard (green) left of the Cement Plant
is drawn off the inside of a 23" radius curve. I'm not aware of a commercial turnout that would fit; Walthers' #6 1/2
has 24" outside and 20" inside. I could hand-lay it, but the minimum radius entering the yard would be 19" or less.



Country: USA | Posts: 5027 Go to Top of Page

rca2
Engine Wiper

Posted - 11/20/2016 :  12:16:41 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by jbvb

Another point about Dave's changes from Nov. 17: The turnout connecting the new yard (green) left of the Cement Plant
is drawn off the inside of a 23" radius curve....

Perhaps the easy solution would be to move the yard ladder to the other end so the turnout could be placed on the tangent track.


Modeling Arizona Eastern Railroad, Hayden Junction (1920), in On30

Country: USA | Posts: 409 Go to Top of Page
Page: of 19 Previous Topic: shelf layout composition Topic Next Topic: Wednesday Night Ops on the CL&W  
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Previous Page | Next Page
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-14 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 0.41 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000