Railroad Line Forums - Backdrops
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 6 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 114 ]  [ Total: 120 ]  [ Newest Member: rsmokingus ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 Model Railroad Construction
 Backdrops
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Topic Next Topic: Turnout/Track Compatibility
Page: of 23

lac13705
Section Hand

Posted - 11/21/2005 :  5:02:30 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Just thought I would throw in an opinion on painting backdrops. First, I'm an aerospace engineer with VERY few artistic genes and no painting experience beyond a little rail car wheathering until recently. I could not find commercial backdrops that looked like the Mt. Shasta area in Northern CA that I'm modeling (HO) so I finally had to drag myself (kicking and screaming) into an art supply store if I was going to get anywhere beyond plain blue sky over masonite. After getting frustrated with looking at videos and articles that never clearly explained what to do with the brush I picked up a variety of acrylics (tube type) and brushes and just started experimenting. This was the key for me - look at photos of similar areas and just mess with the colors, highlighting, blending and brush techniques until you get something YOU like. It will probably be VERY crude at first but just keep working at it a bit and you will improve very quickly. The wonderful thing about acrylics is that you can paint over what you don't like (several tries were needed on some areas of my layout). My stuff is still very basic but I consider it to serve my purpose and is adequate for my needs (others have stated that you d