Railroad Line Forums - Nantahala Midland V 3.0
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 6 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 105 ]  [ Total: 111 ]  [ Newest Member: Traintinker ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 Small Scale Model Railroad Forum
 Nantahala Midland V 3.0
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Topic Next Topic: paper structures
Page: of 105

LandNnut
Fireman



Posted - 10/14/2009 :  3:04:24 PM  Show Profile  Visit LandNnut's Homepage  Reply with Quote

L&N nut
Jon



Country: USA | Posts: 1606 Go to Top of Page

Frederic Testard
Engineer

Premium Member


Posted - 10/14/2009 :  6:04:52 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Very nice building and interior, Mike. It is frustrating not to be able to really display the inside but pages like this one help to overcome the frustration.

EDIT : well, I mean : the previous page...



Edited by - Frederic Testard on 10/14/2009 6:07:39 PM

Country: France | Posts: 17638 Go to Top of Page

Tyson Rayles
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 10/14/2009 :  7:48:41 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks guys, yeah Frederic I guess you folks here also know there is something inside . Lynn I use 6, 12, 3 or whatever volt bulbs that Radio Shack has in stock and are small enough to fit in whatever I'm lighting. That's why some, like this 6 volt have a resistor wired in line, were the 12 volt bulbs do not. Of course the 3 volt bulbs need a larger resistor than the 6. Guess how I found that out! Anyway I hook them to the side of the transformer that you would use to hook to the track, not the acces. side, that way I can adjust the brightness.

Mike

Country: USA | Posts: 12513 Go to Top of Page

LandNnut
Fireman



Posted - 10/14/2009 :  7:52:27 PM  Show Profile  Visit LandNnut's Homepage  Reply with Quote
My Grandpa told me that light bulbs last longer on DC voltage too.
Jon



Country: USA | Posts: 1606 Go to Top of Page

LynnB
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 10/14/2009 :  11:49:10 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Tyson Rayles

Thanks guys, yeah Frederic I guess you folks here also know there is something inside . Lynn I use 6, 12, 3 or whatever volt bulbs that Radio Shack has in stock and are small enough to fit in whatever I'm lighting. That's why some, like this 6 volt have a resistor wired in line, were the 12 volt bulbs do not. Of course the 3 volt bulbs need a larger resistor than the 6. Guess how I found that out! Anyway I hook them to the side of the transformer that you would use to hook to the track, not the acces. side, that way I can adjust the brightness.


Thanks Mike, I don't have lite bulbs connected to my transformer but I do have all my ds64's connected to it, I think I have another old transformer kicking around that I can use for the lighting of my building which will need bulbs and resistors like you said wired in. I like the idea of adjusting the lighting with the transformer throttle.



Country: Canada | Posts: 2351 Go to Top of Page

Tyson Rayles
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 10/15/2009 :  07:29:55 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
O.K. Lynn, I'll bite. What is a ds64?

Mike

Country: USA | Posts: 12513 Go to Top of Page

LynnB
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 10/15/2009 :  08:18:30 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Tyson Rayles

O.K. Lynn, I'll bite. What is a ds64?


This is a ds64 http://www.digitrax.com/prd_statdec_ds64.php
and this is how my mess looks
[URL=http://img253.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dscn09199wb.jpg][/URL]
right now I only use them forcontroling the tortoise switches but there are many many other ways of using them.



Country: Canada | Posts: 2351 Go to Top of Page

Tyson Rayles
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 10/15/2009 :  9:04:04 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Well that makes things clear as mud Lynn , what are those things, relays?

Mike

Country: USA | Posts: 12513 Go to Top of Page

LynnB
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 10/15/2009 :  11:28:56 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Tyson Rayles

Well that makes things clear as mud Lynn , what are those things, relays?


See if I can cleat the smog abit, each of the ds64 allow the dcc hand control to talk to the turnouts which are thrown via the tortoise switch.Each tortoise\turnout has an assigned address which I bring up on my hand controler and once the address has been called I can open or close the turnout. So each ds64 will control 4 turnouts via tortoise. Yhere are other things that can be operated with the ds64 I'm just not up on them yet.



Country: Canada | Posts: 2351 Go to Top of Page

Tyson Rayles
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 10/16/2009 :  09:40:15 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
So they are a sort of digital relay?

Mike

Country: USA | Posts: 12513 Go to Top of Page

LynnB
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 10/16/2009 :  11:03:46 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Tyson Rayles

So they are a sort of digital relay?


LOL ya I suppose they can be considered a digital relay on another level.



Country: Canada | Posts: 2351 Go to Top of Page

Tyson Rayles
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 10/20/2009 :  1:00:22 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Well I got a little more done. I carved "planks" into the porch floor as you could see some wood grain in it even with a couple of heavy coats of paint so it wasn't gonna pass for a poured slab. I also added a chimney cap, tar papered the roof and did a little light weathering. I also got the porch supports in. Still need to put a little foundation under it as the wood porch says it ain't sitting on a concrete slab. Also need to add some signage, probably someone going in the door and of course "plant" it on the layout.













Mike

Country: USA | Posts: 12513 Go to Top of Page

LandNnut
Fireman



Posted - 10/20/2009 :  1:09:16 PM  Show Profile  Visit LandNnut's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Looks like a great place to stop and get a DR. Pepper.


Country: USA | Posts: 1606 Go to Top of Page

Rick
Administrator

Premium Member


Posted - 10/20/2009 :  1:40:00 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote


As you think, so will you be.

Country: USA | Posts: 21499 Go to Top of Page

Tyson Rayles
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 10/21/2009 :  06:20:24 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks guys

Mike

Country: USA | Posts: 12513 Go to Top of Page
Page: of 105 Topic Next Topic: paper structures  
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Previous Page | Next Page
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-17 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 0.98 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000