Railroad Line Forums - Nantahala Midland V 3.0
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 2 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 112 ]  [ Total: 114 ]  [ Newest Member: colind ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 Small Scale Model Railroad Forum
 Nantahala Midland V 3.0
Next Page
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: TT scale Otter Creek Falls Coal & Lumber Rwy Topic Next Topic: Hereford UK in N Gauge
Page: of 107

Tyson Rayles
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/20/2007 :  8:53:49 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yep! Frank's modeling convinced me I was better off golfing than modeling!

Edited by - Tyson Rayles on 12/11/2018 2:55:48 PM

Country: USA | Posts: 12940

Dutchman
Administrator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/20/2007 :  9:02:34 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Mike, it sounds like you are fast developing a plan.

We just had this discussion about 'good enough', etc., and I know that I said that I wouldn't go back and change parts of my layout, just because I've gained new skills and can now do better. That's true, but if there ever was an area that I wish I could start over, it would be my WIRING.



Country: USA | Posts: 31247 Go to Top of Page

Tyson Rayles
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/20/2007 :  9:43:00 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yeah Bruce I hate wiring, track laying and soldering. However the trains don't run with out that stuff darn it!


Country: USA | Posts: 12940 Go to Top of Page

Tabooma County Rwy
Fireman



Posted - 01/20/2007 :  10:12:41 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Which is why my next layout probably won't have track or trains....no wiring!

But anyway, nice to see you off and running on a new, better version, Tyson.



Country: USA | Posts: 4630 Go to Top of Page

Tyson Rayles
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/20/2007 :  11:43:36 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hey Al you can always build a "Rails-to-Trails" layout! Model Railroader did one as a April Fool's joke one year.


Edited by - Tyson Rayles on 01/20/2007 11:46:14 PM

Country: USA | Posts: 12940 Go to Top of Page

acousticco
Fireman



Posted - 01/21/2007 :  01:50:22 AM  Show Profile  Visit acousticco's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I'm glad to see you've started your V3.0. I'm looking forward to seeing the trackplan and then watching you build it. I've just started my N scale V1.0 so it'll be fun to see which way each of us go. Wanna race?

-Cody



Country: Canada | Posts: 1672 Go to Top of Page

Tyson Rayles
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/21/2007 :  05:14:16 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
"Wanna race?"
Naw Cody that would be too much like work then. But I'm interested in seeing where you go with yours also.



Country: USA | Posts: 12940 Go to Top of Page

MikeC
Administrator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/21/2007 :  10:06:53 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Sounds like you've "got a plan," Tyson. And your wiring looks just like mine - except you already have a lot more of it than I do.

quote:
Originally posted by Tabooma County Rwy

Which is why my next layout probably won't have track or trains....no wiring!



Al, I knew a guy back in the mid/late 70's here in the KC area whose trains were all static models. His layout was basement sized, but the only wiring on it was for animated models, sound effects (thunder, factory noise, etc), and lighting (sunrise/sunset, lightning, etc.) Other than the animation stuff, nothing ran. His layout was a scheduled stop for Greyline tour buses.




Country: USA | Posts: 21584 Go to Top of Page

Bbags
Administrator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/21/2007 :  10:23:45 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Tyson,
Like the plan and look forward to following this construction.
Maybe when you get a little further along I will get up off my butt and make a visit to see the new construction.



John Bagley
Modeling the Alaska Railroad in HO in Wildwood Georgia.

Country: USA | Posts: 13309 Go to Top of Page

Bbags
Administrator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/21/2007 :  10:55:43 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by MikeC


quote:
Originally posted by Tabooma County Rwy

Which is why my next layout probably won't have track or trains....no wiring!



Al, I knew a guy back in the mid/late 70's here in the KC area whose trains were all static models. His layout was basement sized, but the only wiring on it was for animated models, sound effects (thunder, factory noise, etc), and lighting (sunrise/sunset, lightning, etc.) Other than the animation stuff, nothing ran. His layout was a scheduled stop for Greyline tour buses.





I have a layout like that in my basement right now with actually zero wiring of any type..
I better get some wiring done soon or I could be in big trouble.



John Bagley
Modeling the Alaska Railroad in HO in Wildwood Georgia.

Country: USA | Posts: 13309 Go to Top of Page

RichBeau
Fireman



Posted - 01/21/2007 :  11:01:59 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Mike

Looks like you've got a good set of Do's and Don'ts. I waiting on the track plan.

--Rich B.



Country: USA | Posts: 2712 Go to Top of Page

Tyson Rayles
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/21/2007 :  12:36:27 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Mike I can't imagine why people would want to see a layout that didn't run, animation not withstanding. John give me a decade or so and there should be notable progress! Rich this will be a small layout (28" x 6' plus staging yards) so I shouldn't be too long in getting something posted.


Country: USA | Posts: 12940 Go to Top of Page

Jerry M
Fireman



Posted - 01/21/2007 :  1:08:16 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Tyson, looks like the same group of guys moved from there to here, my wife and I just had this conversation over breakfast, I have been living here going on 6yrs and every modeler??Ive met is a magazine reader or someday will build, one guy has a beautiful spray booth and expensive guns and in 3yrs has never used it. One guy has shelves FULL of kits from years and years some nice ones, and a whole shop and has never in the six yrs I've known him built a model of anything. Go figure. I offered to break in the spraybooth, but alas he does'nt want to get paint on it!
I will say one thing though they have plenty of advice for everybody over coffee...
So I like you am isolated until the shows that come up but most are in Portland 3hrs. away, but I drive it to get around other people who model. If it does'nt get better I am actually considering moving to a more active area....Jerry



Country: USA | Posts: 4055 Go to Top of Page

acousticco
Fireman



Posted - 01/21/2007 :  1:11:16 PM  Show Profile  Visit acousticco's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Tyson Rayles

"Wanna race?"
Naw Cody that would be too much like work then.


Thank goodness! I was bluffing.
-Cody



Country: Canada | Posts: 1672 Go to Top of Page

Tyson Rayles
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/21/2007 :  2:06:12 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
"If it does'nt get better I am actually considering moving to a more active area....Jerry"
I haven't ruled that out either, but if I do move it will have to someplace warmer as well!



Country: USA | Posts: 12940 Go to Top of Page

Philip
Fireman

Premium Member

Posted - 01/21/2007 :  6:08:43 PM  Show Profile  Visit Philip's Homepage  Reply with Quote

Looks like your squared away.
Here is my plan Tyson!



Nice eh?
Philip
still working that tin.....



Country: USA | Posts: 2655 Go to Top of Page
Page: of 107 Previous Topic: TT scale Otter Creek Falls Coal & Lumber Rwy Topic Next Topic: Hereford UK in N Gauge  
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Next Page
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-19 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 5.91 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000